Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation


The Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation (ECAE) is a body jointly operated by the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS) and the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT).
The ECAE serves as an expert and advisory body in the area of animal experimentation, with members drawn from various disciplines – basic research, veterinary medicine, animal welfare, law and ethics. The responsibilities of the ECAE include the preparation of opinions on fundamental issues in animal experimentation and the examination of legal regulations.


- Prof. Hanno Würbel, Division of Animal Welfare, VetSuisse-Fakultät Bern (chair)
- Dr. Beatrice Roth, Animal Protection of Zurich, Zurich (vice chair)

- lic. theol., Dipl.-Biol. Sibylle Ackermann Birbaum, SAMW, Bern (ex officio)
- PD Dr. Alessandra Bergadano, Leiterin Zentrale Tierhaltung, Dep. for BioMedical Research, University of Bern
- PhD Matthias Eggel, Inst. für Biomedizinische Ethik und Medizingeschichte, University of Zurich
- Dr. Gérald Hess, Institut de géographie et durabilité, University of Lausanne
- PD Dr. Birgit Ledermann, Leiterin 3Rs Programm Novartis, Basel
- Prof. Christian Lüscher, Departement of Basic Neurosciences, University of Geneva
- Dr. Angela Martin, Philosophisches Seminar, Universität Basel
- Prof. Michael Schmid, Dep. of Neurosciences and Movement Sciences, University of Fribourg
- med. vet. Brigitte Stuber, Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, Bern
- Dr. Michaela Thallmair, Animal Welfare Officer, University of Zurich
- Prof. Susanne Ulbrich, Institute of Agriculture Sciences, ETH Zürich

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20